Fibromyalgia Fridays #5

Disclaimer: I am not a medical professional. My blog and the Fibromyalgia Fridays segment is simply a documentation of my life. My views expressed here are my personal opinion and should not be taken as medical advice. The topics I discuss in this blog are methods that have been helpful for my own struggle with fibromyalgia. Please speak with a medical professional before making any changes to your daily routine.

When I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia, my doctor emphasized several things– healthy diet, exercise, the importance of sleep, stress management, and pain management through medication.

“Do not stress”– Okay got it doc; I will work on it.

stress

If you ever want to tic a teenager off, tell her to not stress. For me, trying not to stress led me to stress more.

I have mentioned in previous posts that I truly believe stress is deeply linked to my fibromyalgia pain. I even think it may be one of the underlying causes of its onset. Whatever the truth may be, whenever I am stressing my fibromyalgia pain intensifies. Therefore, stress management is a key component to living a life outside of my diagnosis.

Now I can preach about stress management for days, but the fact of the matter is that we all stress. It cannot be avoided. I have off days and bad moods.. In the end, it is all how you handle it.

Handling Stress– So you have a lot going on, pressure to perform, succeed, etc.

Do’s and Don’ts

Do not reach for that gallon of ice cream

Do take a walk

Do not pick fights with friends, family, or other loved ones

Do journal your feelings

Do spend time with those who care

Do not drink away your troubles

Do not compare

Do take a minute to smell the roses

Like many things, managing stress is a personal journey. Things that work for others may not work for your situation.

And I cannot resist the urge to quote my favorite historical figure, Abraham Lincoln:

The best thing about the future is that it comes one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

