The late rabbit

It was so nice to begin my day with a good workout. I have been out of the gym for a few days, because I have been getting my daily exercise outside enjoying the warmer temperatures. I got in a 2 mile interval run and then various strength exercises.

Post-Easter Circuit:
Superset A: 3 rounds, 21-15-9 reps
Squat thrusters
Push-ups

Superset B: 3 sets of each
1 minute step-ups (30 sec on each leg)
20 butterfly sit-ups
10 upright rows
10 bicep curls

Holy burning arms.– Great if you want to come back from all that Easter candy that you ate over the weekend. I am probably the only one who didn’t eat candy on Easter Sunday. The Easter Bunny was a day late coming to my house.

jelly beans

Easter Bunny.. Christian– Same thing, right? I was very excited about these babies, simply because they are my all-time favorite candy and only come out around Easter.

Yesterday was a good day for me and not just because of the Starburst Jellybeans. My beginner fencing class started. We did more finding the correct size masks, jackets, and learning the basic rules. The sport is much more complex than I had previously thought with a lot of traditions still incorporated into the practice. I promise there will be pictures to come.

Also, yesterday, the wanna-be chef in me  decided to try a new recipe that I found off the Carrots ‘N’ Cake healthy living blog. Tina is an amazing health enthusiast and offers insight into her healthy lifestyle. Not long ago she posted an one pot meal recipe,  Cheesy Couscous with Chicken & Spinach.

I had never tried couscous before and figured I should give it a try since one of my 13 in 2013 goals is to cook something new every week. For this recipe, I did not have  pearl/Israeli couscous, so I used regular and it still was delicious.

Couscous

In the cooking process

Cheesy Couscous with Chicken & Spinach

by Tina from Carrots ‘N’ Cake

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of chopped spinach (frozen or fresh)– I used fresh
  • 1.5 cups chunked chicken– I used shredded chicken
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened almond milk (or cow’s milk)
  • 4 wedges of The Laughing Cow Light French Onion
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 cup uncooked pearl/Israeli couscous (regular works too)

Directions: Cook pearl/Israeli couscous as instructed by directions on package in a large pot on the stove top. When it is finished cooking, add the wedges of cheese, spinach, milk, garlic powder, and chicken to the pot while it is still hot. Mix well. Serve immediately.

I am sure that I will make this meal again– filling and I have leftovers for the next few days.

One comment

  1. I LOVE starburst jelly beans!! They were the only ones the Easter bunny ever brought to our house, but we could never find them in the store at any other time of the year. There’s nothing wrong with getting Easter candy the day after either; I just bought some dark chocolate on super sale yesterday at the store!

Leave a Reply

