Big Momma’s Santa Fe Soup

Life lately consists of a great deal of routine– work, workout, hang out. Nothing spectacularly exciting. However, there are a few things that can brighten up my day– well, besides family and friend time.

Numero uno

diet coke

Caffeine, especially when my boss is buying

Numero dos

Mom’s Santa Fe soup. Now, this soup is something my mother has recently thrown together or stumbled upon via internet (I am not sure which one), but I think she makes it so often that it is now a staple in my parents’ household. Not that I am complaining… I cannot get enough of this stuff. It gives me my Mexican American-Mexican food fix, and that my friends is why I chose to make it for dinner last night.

Note to Mom: I hope you didn’t mind me sharing your cooking secrets.

I prefer to best describe this soup as a glorified queso dip, and reading over the ingredients, you will see why.

Big Momma’s Santa Fe Soup

What you need:

Santa Fe Ingredients

  • 1 lb velveeta cheese, cubed
  • 1 lb ground beef or turkey, browned + drained
  • 15 1/4 oz can corn, undrained
  • 15 oz can kidney beans, undrained
  • 1 can Rotel
  • 14 1/2 oz can stewed tomatoes (or I prefer the petite diced)
  • 1 envelope dry taco seasoning

Directions:

Combine all ingredients except cheese. Heat thoroughly stir in cubes of velveeta cheese until melted. Serve with corn chips or a tortilla.

Note: If you want to double the recipe, my mother recommends only using 1 1/2 pounds of velveeta.

I promise–this soup does not disappoint.

One comment

  1. Vicki Landry · · Reply

    Making this soup tonight!

Leave a Reply

