Breakfast Addition– Chia Seeds

Forgive me readers, for I have eaten Mexican out twice in one day– but oh, was it worth it!

Exhibit A: Lunch at Rio Grande

Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant

Here I enjoyed catching up with a friend and a grilled steak tostada.

After lunch, I ran a few errands and took a nap. Soon, it was dinner time, and my roommates and some friends wanted to make a Cafe Mexicali run. Normally, I am a every once in a while restaurant goer, but for some reason, I could not resist.

Which leads me to Exhibit B:

Cafe Mex

Sweet Port Quesole with Creamy Habenero Sauce

Let’s just say that stuffed is an understatement, but you can never have too much Mexican food.

As for today, there was an addition to my usual oatmeal concoction– chia seeds.

chia

I have seen these on numerous lists as a superfood, and on a whim, I decided to give them a try. I am sure that you remember these guys–>

scoobydoo-chia-pet

Now, chia seeds are back in the spotlight as the new optimal nutrition “it”.

Here is the low-down on chia seeds:

Whole and ground chia seeds are being added to fruit drinks, snack foods, and cereals and sold on their own to be backed into cookies and sprinkled on other foods such as yogurt. Grown primarily in Mexico and Bolivia, chia, like fish, is rich in omega-3 fatty acids, though a different sort. In addition, it has antioxidants, protein, and fiber. For more info, check out this article.

Chia seeds were a good addition to my breakfast this morning. Honestly, I could not even taste them, but it was nice knowing all the nutritional benefits that I added from sprinkling these seed on my oatmeal.

Weekend. Overall, I had a pretty relaxing weekend with movies, snow, and the occasional workout. I have been struggling a lot with my fibromyalgia lately, which I hope to write a post about in the next few days.

To my readers: What “superfoods” have you tried?

One comment

  1. Vicki Landry · · Reply

    Greek yogurt!

Leave a Reply

