Slow Start Thursday

So, my plans were to get in a quick run this morning, but running on only 5 hours of sleep, I decided push exercise until after work.

Shocked that I was up so late? Yes, I am too– normally I am a 9:30 pm and in bed kind of girl. Instead, I opted to watch Argo with a friend last night.

Argo

I would highly recommend this movie. Quick synopsis– In late 1970s- early ’80s, militants seize the U.S. Embassy in Tehran during the height of the Iranian Revolution. CIA agent creates a fake Hollywood film production to rescue the U.S. diplomats who sought refuge at the home of a Canadian ambassador.

Also last night, I got to talk to my ex-roommate, Kate.

Kate

She is in New Zealand for a semester studying abroad and is having a wonderful time with adventures like sky diving and bungee jumping. I am so happy for her, and a bit jealous ;).

So these are the reasons that my day started off a little slow; however, when I arrived at work, my boss had a gift waiting on my desk.

Mug frontMug back

She told me it was my going-away present, but could not wait to give it to me. I love Tervis tumblers, so this is the perfect gift for me.

Besides work, I have a lot of things on my to-do list, which stay on that list for way too long, for example a trip to the gym and grocery store is necessary tonight.

Today’s Workout Plan:

Going to the gym without a plan is never a good idea for me. I end up hopping from cardio machine to machine, and my workout is a hodgepodge with less intensity than desired.

I plan to get in a 1 mile run then add the CrossFit workout, Cindy (I found this online).

Cindy is:
20 minute AMRAP (as many rounds as possible)
5 pullups
10 pushups
15 squats

crossfit-games-2012-stack-629x423
Source

It is one of my 13 in 2013 goals to attend an actual CrossFit class, so let me know if any of you CrossFit athletes have any advice.

To be honest with you, the grocery part of my to-do list will probably be put off. Even though I am out of vegetables and pretty much running low on everything, I always feel I can stretch it to the limit. Is anyone else like this?

Encouraging Words.

God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging.

-Psalms 46:1-3

In the past few days, I feel led by God to pray more. He has presented me with different struggles personally as well as in the lives of others. With that I have decided to make a new prayer list page. I encourage readers to visit this page, and leave a comment or two of things you may wish me or other readers to pray for– it doesn’t have to be specific. Life is difficult but prayer is powerful.

Leave a Reply

