Faith and Healing

Good Morning, World!

My day started off with a nice strength workout and then work at 7:30 am.

Breakfast was eaten at my desk overnight oats with 2 tbsp of Great Value Indulgent Trail Mix.

BF 3-20

Overnight oats has to be the one of the easiest things to make for breakfast on the go, and boy, does it hit the spot.

Overnight Oats Recipe

Ingredients:
1/2 banana
1/3 cup of oats
1/2 cup of almond milk (or other milk of choice)
1 tbsp of greek yogurt
Toppings (Optional): Peanut Butter, Trail Mix, etc.

Directions: Mash up banana and combine with oats, almond milk, and yogurt into jar. Leave in fridge overnight (or at least 30 minutes) and in the morning, add your toppings.

Now to the title of the post–>

Faith and Healing. As I have mentioned in a previous post, I like to start my day off with a daily devotional (lately, it is delivered via The Bible app). Today’s devotional  addressed Romans 4:13:21.

” And being not weak in faith, [Abraham] considered not his own body now dead, when he was about a hundred years old, neither yet the deadness of Sarah’s womb: He staggered not at the promise of God through unbelief; but was strong in faith, giving glory to God.”

– Romans 4:19-20

The breakdown— God’s promise to Abraham was that he would be made a father of many nations.  At this time, Abraham had many natural facts working against him, yet he chose to ignore those and believed only in God’s promise. God delivered.

The Lord spoke to me– this morning, this verse. However, it was not my own struggles that were laid upon my heart, but of my brother.

I have spoken briefly about him; however, I do not know if I could put into words the admiration I have for my brother. He is a strong-willed, young man of Christ who I know the Lord has immense plans. Of course, he has been tested throughout his life, and I know without certain (at the time tragic) events he would not have become the man he is today.

You see– He was recently diagnosed with degenerative lumbar inverted disc. From what I am told his L1 and L5 are half the size that they should be, and the last disc is just a sliver. As your spinal column goes down it should get bigger, but his gets smaller. The cause is unknown but likely the result of trauma.

Again, I am not sure if I can truly convey how much my heart breaks for him. He is a person who so very much wants to live life to the fullest, and I speak from experience (Fibromyalgia patient) when I say I know how chronic pain feels– how defeating it can be.

Romans 4:13-21 spoke to me this morning, and I am reminded that our God is the same God who healed the sick centuries ago. I choose today to step over the line of faith with the knowledge that God will heal my brother. Why? Because I know that he has immense plans for him, and he will heal him so that he can serve the Lord to the best of his ability.

Readers, your prayers will be appreciated, and I am committing each day to praying for this healing.

Leave a Reply

