C’mon Wednesday

Is it Wednesday after 2pm yet? I am aware that it is only Tuesday, but this week has been dragging– this could also be due to the fact that my positive attitude goes out the window during work. For some reason, any little work assignment I have has been a hot mess filled with entitlement attitudes from co-workers. Luckily, my mood improves after listening to some KLove and a run.

On the bright side, I got in a good strength workout yesterday and had one of my favorite dinners, leftover chicken enchiladas.

Dinner 3-11-13

The chicken enchiladas that I made Saturday night were healthy-ish, so I loaded up on veggies.

Ingredients:

  • Oven roasted chicken
  • Organic whole wheat tortillas
  • Cheddar cheese
  • Green chili
  • Cafe Mexicali’s Creamy Habanero sauce

Next time, I might add a little less cheese, and measure out my ingredients. Other than that, I love how easy this is to make. It probably took me 20 minutes.

You are probably interested in why I wanted it to be Wednesday after two. Well, tomorrow after work, I will be driving down to my best friend’s house, spending a few days there, attending another friend’s wedding, and just relaxing and enjoying a mini-vacation.

However, with all this fun that I plan to have, I will also be struggling with my healthy eating habits. After my past year of dieting and nutrition research, I have stumbled upon a seemingly simple answer– moderation. Now, I am not exactly a moderation type of girl, but this is why I started a healthy living blog. I need to find that balance. This will definitely be a challenge, but knowing that I will be held accountable to this blog will hopefully help me, plus I am bringing a lot of Think Thin protein bars.

Tips from the Internet– How to survive weddings, parties, and other social gatherings:

  • Don’t go hungry. Eat a snack so you won’t be starving and ready to devour everything in the buffet line.
  • Use the smallest plate available for buffet items
  • Pass on the appetizers during sit-down meals
  • Look for healthier items– Fill your plate with 3/4 vegetables and 1/4 lean meat
  • Share your dessert
  • Drink plenty of water
  • Make a choice– bread during dinner or cake after? Hint: Cake!
  • Dance!

 

Leave a Reply

