Chicago Recap

Mardi Gras weekend, I met my parents and my brother in Chicago to celebrate my brother’s and my graduation.

Note: He is now a registered nurse, and I am working until I start graduate school in the fall.

Although I returned a little over a week ago, I felt it would be nice to recap my trip.

Saturday.  My parents and brother arrived in Chicago early Saturday morning by train. This was the first time that they traveled by train, and they absolutely loved it. I was told that the choosing the sleeper car from Hammond to Chicago was a great experience. A train trip is next on my to-do list. As for me, I traveled by plane, which was less exciting due to the usual delayed departures that plague me.

Anyway, I met them at the hotel just in time for dinner at the Grand Lux Cafe– I cannot say enough about this restaurant. Love.

Sunday. We took our time getting ready for the day, and took a taxi to the Museum of Surgical Sciences. I discovered this little treasure when researching must-see places in Chicago.

Museum of Surgical Sciences

With Adam working as a nurse on the surgical trauma unit, I knew we would enjoy the exhibits. The museum really allowed visitors to get a true picture of the evolution of medicine and surgery. Almost two hours later, we were getting pretty hungry.

While the guys left in search of deep dish pizza, mom and I had reservations for tea at the Drake Hotel. Tea with my mother is an experience we both enjoy tremendously, and we have made a point to have tea every so often.

Palm Court

The rest of the day consisted of walking the Mag Mile (Michigan Avenue), snacking on Garrett’s Gourmet Popcorn, napping, and dinner at Ruth’s Chris Steak House.

Chicago Snow

And the occasional snow fight– and they call us college graduates.

Monday. Bright and early, my dad and I got up to get in a good workout at the hotel gym. I got in 20 minutes of light cardio on the elliptical while watching the news on the Pope’s resignation and then a 30 minutes of strength training.

After showering and grabbing a quick breakfast, we were off to the Field Museum and Navy Pier.

Sue

Lake Michigan

^^ Lake Michigan from Navy Pier– Yeah, it was cold is certainly an understatement.

Now the eats:

Lunch was at Al’s Italian Beef, which is considered a Chicago legend. Plus the inner Man vs. Food lover could not pass up a chance to visit a place that Adam Richman has been. Of course, I had not yet started my blog so the food images are borrowed from Google.

I order the Regular Al dipped with cheddar cheese and sweet peppers. I am just going to say good thing that there is not an Al’s in this city because healthy eating would be out the window.

Al's Italian Beef

For dinner, we went to Gino’s East, a restaurant recommended to me by a Chicago local. My family and I shared two caesar salads and a medium deep dish pizza.

Gino's East

I am a HUGE pizza fan so this was also a favorite of my trip. After Gino’s, we walked through the windy city for ice cream– I don’t care how cold it is you don’t say no to ice cream.

Tuesday. Tuesday came all too quickly, and I was at the airport for my 11 am flight back to Denver. I could have used an extra day and look forward to my next trip back. Although, I am so happy to be back to my cleanish eating routine. It is amazing how much better you feel when you are eating well.

Take away: Chicago. go! Just a tip, we were lucky with the weather but January and February are the coldest time to visit this city.

Leave a Reply

